Hang in there, baby, Friday’s com’in

Hanging in there, thank you.

"Mom! Can you help me carry all theses stones?"

Day twenty-six

Day twenty-seven

Day 28, Milo...Just what I always wanted!

Maybe if I get one of those, “hang in there” kitten posters for my studio I would feel better. Or, maybe this baby orangutan crotch shot one.  Yikes, I am so grumpy. Didn’t really think it was possible to be this cranky. I almost punched Jon’s punching door and that is just not like me. Kids! They are always needing things like food and diaper changes and help finding their watches and tiny scraps of paper that you recycled because you had no idea of their immense importance, sheesh! Can’t they take care of themselves? Who do they think I am? Their mom?! Oh, right, I am their mom and they’ll need me until the day that I die (hopefully).

I assessed the situation and realized that I am feeling overwhelmed by the demands of well, I guess, just today. How do I let go? I’m a big list maker. I like strategic planning. What’s going on now, what do you want things to look like, and what steps are you going to take to get there. If I just write down what needs to be done, I magically feel a little less overwhelmed if I can see what needs to be done. Magically things are manageable. Milo gave me a notebook this morning and told me I could write some things down if I needed to. He knows me so well.

Most days don’t feel so stressed but today was really sucking until I slowed my roll, snuggled the kids, made a fort, ate a cookie (ok, five cookies), and decided to make a list.

  • Make a painting
  • Take a shower
  • Update blog
  • Order Jon’s birthday present
  • Take Milo to swim class
  • Send the estimates
  • Clean the house
  • Pump the milk
  • Feed the kids
  • Do the laundry
  • Eat something healthy
  • Do some crunches
  • Return calls
  • Get baby to nap
  • Go to art supply store
  • Finish website
  • Feed the dog
  • Drink more coffee
  • Check email

Mind you I am solving none of life’s ills. It’s not rocket science and I am doing no real good for humanity.  It’s all just my stay at home mommy stuff. If I were teaching, this list would twice as long. Why do I let all this mundane, totally doable stuff make me feel so crazed?  It’s too easy to get caught up in the moment and make it all seem bigger and heavier than it needs to be. Sat-nam. Let go.

So I obviously have for too many important things going on to say much else. I’ll just have to hang in there until Friday like an orangutan with my junk out or an adorable kitten, you choose your mental image. Then, imagine yourself looking at my website for a virtual first Friday event, this Friday, October 1st. Tell your friends and tell them to tell their friends. The first 30 days of my project will be online and available for purchase.

2 responses to “Hang in there, baby, Friday’s com’in

  1. I choose orangutan. Hang in there!

  2. I have to protest! Not doing anything for humanity? Ah MY SILLY NIECE you are doing the best thing for humanity…raising two sons to love the world and themselves! I remember a line from an old Mork & Mindy TV show…at the end of the show Robin Williams as Mork is talking to the “Big Dude in the sky about mothers. The Big D wanted to know how much mothers got paid, the answer was nothing…”Oh they must not be worth very much”, says Big D…”On the contrary,” says Mork…”They are Priceless!” AMEN!

Leave a Reply

