Dig a little faster and a little better

 

Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel

 

 

Day forty

 

 

Ah, to have an encouraging audience

 

 

Day forty-one

 

 

Milo day 40, PlayDough sculptures

 

 

Day forty-two

 

 

Milo, day forty-one. "This is for the mailman, he has a lot of brains."

 

Milo’s Grandma Lori and Grandpa gave him a book a while ago, Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel. Milo loves this book. In the story, Mike Mulligan and his steam shovel, Mary Anne are at the end of their career, they are being  out performed by diesel powered diggers. Anyways, Mike Mulligan and Mary Anne take one last stab at greatness and offer to dig the cellar for a new town hall in just one day. The town’s people agree to let them dig it but everyone seems skeptical. One little boy and his dog come to watch. Mike Mulligan says to the boy that the always dig a little faster and little better when someone is watching. Soon the townspeople, the school children, the fire department and folks from the next town over have gathered to watch Mike Mulligan and his steam shovel. When the dust settles at dusk, Mike Mulligan and Mary Anne had dug so fast and dug so well that they finished the job.

There is something to be said for being accountable to others. I can tell myself to do something all day long but when I make a statement that I will accomplish something, it takes on a life of its own (insert my secret love of strategic planning here). If I’m not just painting for lil’ ol’ me but I have made a goal to put it into the world, I dig a little deeper.

A mom at Milo’s school was telling me that they like my project and my work. Was I gracious? Probably not, I was probably more awkward than anything else. I need to work on that. Great. Now I’ve said it, it must be done. I will get better at taking a compliment and talking about my work face to face with people (Is that like using the Secret? Do I have to get a bulletin board?)

I’m on day 43 of this project and I am pretty pumped about things. I’m starting to realize that I can put it out there and not have any pretext about it.  That I can accomplish this. I don’t have to sell every piece (although that would be nice) I don’t have to blow up al a Julie and Julia (although that would be nice too).  I know a few people are looking and listening and that this is somehow more for me and for Milo than anything else.

I want Milo to know that he can finish what he starts and how important it is to do what you love, work hard, do what you say you’re going to do and to share it with the world. Just call us Mike Mulligan and Mary Anne.

2 responses to “Dig a little faster and a little better

  1. Love that book!

  2. must know what you used for day 41’s texture.. these are all so bold and beautiful.
    and what is up with our kids and their fascination with mailmen?

Leave a Reply

