Hula hooping leads to job offers

 

Get your nerd on

World's smallest sundae

 

 

 

When I was in college they opened an Ed Debevic’s here in Denver. For those of you who have never been to one, it’s a 50’s theme diner where all the wait staff is surly and rude and everyone is in costume and covered in flair. I was so excited. It was a childhood dream of mine to work there and serve the world’s smallest sundae. I went to the auditions and go the job based on my extraordinary hula hooping skills. That job was so damn fun. I had two personae, a nerd and a house wife ( a real stretch for me) complete with wigs and vintage circle skirts, and no less than 15 pieces of flare (you can give the screen the finger now). I even got to DJ a Motown night on Fridays. Every so often, we would have to hop up on the counter to dance. Proud Mary just came on and I can remember every step.

 

Day fifty-two

Day fifty-three

Milo, Day fifty-three, Lily Pad

Milo, day fifty-four

Typically, I’m not really a very spontaneous person. I like to know where I’m going, how long it will take to get there, what time we’re supposed to arrive and how long we’ll be. Fun right? All of my recent perfection posts have led me to this one. Now that my house is clean and in order, I have more time for spontaneity .This on e is about saying F-it and doing what you want.

day fifty-four

Day fifty-five

I want to be a working artist. I want my work in galleries and I want people I’ve never met to look at my work and want to buy it. So how do I make that happen? Sadly, my current approach of sitting on my couch hoping that somehow my phone will magically ring and it will be the Guggenheim on the other end has not worked out so well. Guess I’ll have to pull myself up by my bootstraps. I’ve finally realized that nothing will happen to me if I don’t get gallery representation or if I get rejected. Life is pretty darn good, I’m happy with my work and I’m willing to put in the leg work to convince strangers to believe in my art. I don’t think I’ve ever had this feeling before.  Something about being a mom, I think. I’m down to fail and I’m down to succeed. I’m just not down to sit around and wish I had tried.  I wouldn’t want my kids to have regrets, why should I?

I do all my correspondence with this elegant cobra pen

Hot toddy, check. Banana bread and orange, check. Poorly organized checklist, check.

Milo, Day fifty-five, Our House

I called a bunch of galleries and figured out the submission process for a bunch more. Now for the tedious task of finishing my artist’s statement and sexing up the ole’ resume. My prestigious showing history of one coffee shop/restaurant/bar show per year for the past seven years should really entice those collectors. We’ve all got to start somewhere.  I’m taking it up a notch, time to hula hoop for my life.  I can also roller skate, I wonder if that’ll come in handy?

FYI readers:

From now on I will be posting on Wednesday and Saturdays.

Virtual First Friday on Nov. 5th (free shipping if you pre-order anything from days 31-60! Just message me)!

One response to “Hula hooping leads to job offers

  1. thanks for the thank you..I now own an original Delanie, circa 1984 and an original Milo! Always wanted to open gallery in the mountains, called the Cousins! I have such talented family!

Leave a Reply

