Inspiring the Fesslers towards happiness

Inspiring aren't I?

When I was I college I took an advanced ceramics class. One day in class we watched a video on some ceramicist (I can’t remember his name) who talked at length about what makes a really great ceramic drinking vessel. We had to examine our concept of a just-right vessel. Does it hold the right amount of liquid? Does it feel right in your hand? Is it weighted properly? How does it feel when you hold it to your mouth? Does it keep your coffee or tea or whatever the right temperature for the right amount of time? What is the glaze like? Does the shape appeal to you visually? All of these things suddenly mattered. A mug. I have a few perfect vessels. One for tea, one for coffee. My tea mug was made by a mentor teacher and I formulated the hideous glaze. The mug feels light but substantial, it keeps my tea warm for a long time, the lip of the mug is not too fat and not too thin, I feel at ease when I have this mug in my hand. My coffee mug is a standard issue diner style coffee mug that we got on our honeymoon from the bed and breakfast Jon used to work at in Alaska.

Day 57

Day fifty-seven

Day fifty-eight

Day fifty-nine

 

 

 

Finding the perfect mug is like finding home. You know it when it’s right. I have been thinking a lot about the concept of domesticity and the idea of having a home, not just living in a house and having stuff rather, having a space where your life happens. Home is the center of our existence and for Jon and I it always has been. I think that’s why we’re so good together. We both know that our home is not just a place but a life being lived. It is where we make or choices that will trickle out to the rest of the world and create some sort of change.

Milo, Day 57. "This is a window and me and Uncle Tony looking out."

Milo, Day 58. "This is a silly mountain."

Milo, Day 59. "Shh, he is sleeping and he has buggars."

Now that Milo is getting older and Wyatt is here, home is even more valuable. I could not even begin to put a dollar amount on the time I spend making home. Being the stay at home parent this year has gotten me thinking about how we address home life. It is so easy for women and men to get into the “house wife syndrome” of being completely unfulfilled by domestic and childcare responsibilities. Since the industrial revolution domestic life has become centered on consuming things rather than creating them. I fell so easily into the emptiness of going to Target, buying things and consuming them. By the end of the summer I was downright sad. I felt empty and guilty for feeling so empty. I knew that I didn’t need something outside of the home. I needed a new perspective; I need to feed my home and my life with some creativity. Ever since I started this project I am not sad every day. I don’t feel so  empty and I no longer feel like I’m watching my life happen to me while I drink coffee from a mug that doesn’t feel right.

A very serious post for a Halloween weekend. Sorry folks, let’s lighten things up with a few good Halloween photos…In 3rd grade I was Tammy Fae Baker (my mom has a wicked sense of humor), this year Milo went as a Rescue Hero (or a member of the Village People). He won win 3rd place at the coffee shop costume contest and we didn’t spend a dime on his costume!

P.S. Check out our pictures from the I Am photo shoot

Tammy Fae Baker

Rescue Hero Milo

3 responses to “Inspiring the Fesslers towards happiness

  1. wow, thanks delanie. what a great post. It is all so true. Last night i was racking my brain trying to figure out what the hell was special enough to go BUY serge to have something to trade him for all that candy ( from the “halloween fairy” of course) as i simultaneously sorted through my obscene fabric pile thinking.. why am i keeping all of this… haha!
    a duh moment for sure.
    SO.. i am absolutely NOT going out to target today to pick up some piece of crap that will be thrown in a toy basket and forgotten within days. phew.
    SO, on to plans of a lil’homemade softie for serge to snuggle for years to come knowing the halloween fairy cared enough to make it herself, special for just him. 🙂
    target shmarget.
    ps. i like my coffee cups stocky, and uniquely good looking.. the one that lost the rest of it’s set long ago.

  2. Grammie was telling me last night how Milo had on Micheli’s Halloween hat and got to laughing as he looked in the mirror, and then had everyone laughing with his mirth….now it’s my turn…what a hoot, he should have received 1st place! I love Milo’s mountain picture! We,meaning Casey, Laurine, David, Kat, Kelsea and Seaira were at Sea World with the Acotts…..had an amazing time, but the best part that everyone commented on was tht we were family together! love you

Leave a Reply

