Snowflakes and Glitter

So my make it for this week was slightly less than exciting. I wanted to make silver bubble prints on black but it just didn’t work out. I did make a few snow flake cards…ah well, not every project can be a master piece.

ehh...

Speaking of frustration…It would be an understatement to say that some of my students have a hard time controlling their frustration. I have a spot in my classroom where kiddos can go if they are having a hard time cooling off,most teachers do. In the beginning of the year I had one student who was loosing it everytime he came to art I was reminded of my own little spitfire at home and how we made him a mind jar after reading Moody Cow Meditates. The mind jar is simply a glitter and water filled jar that a child can shake and watch the glitter settle. There are all sorts of recipes out there that include glue or some other viscous stuff to make the settling take longer. I find that water and glitter and a little food coloring do the trick.

Mind Jar

So now each day at least 5 kids come knocking on the art room door asking to make a mind jar. I even have one girl who came back to make a pocket size one! The staff have donated dozens of jars to the cause. It’s a full tilt trend and not unlike slap bracelets and Pogs,I’m sure it will pass. But for now my kiddos are trending towards the positive.

One response to “Snowflakes and Glitter

  1. Luvin’ our mind jar over here these days… Moody cow, such a great read . And, glitter season is here! So excited! Glad ur bloggin’ again, btw.. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

